“We received poems from men, women, and teens and from as far away as Florida,” says Jenne Laytham, BCL’s Assistant Director and member of the Basehor’s Writers Group. “It was so hard to pick the winners.” 

The winners of the Poetry Contest 2014:

1st – Teresa Mustain, Basehor, KS ($75)
2nd – Josiah Hoskins, K.C., MO ($50)
Tie for 3rd place:
3rd – Lynn Paul, Tonganoxie, KS ($25)
3rd – Patrick Peterson, Leavenworth, KS ($25)

Honorable Mentions:
Rachel Forbach, Leavenworth, KS
RoJean Mustain, Basehor, KS
Beulah Siegert, Basehor, KS

Humorous Honorable Mention:
Rhonda Ervin, Basehor, KS

Read the winning poems here.